Home > Help Center > Applications > WordPress > Jetpack > Jetpack Modules: Publicize

Jetpack Modules: Publicize

Publicize is one of those 'must have' Jetpack modules which automatically publishes your posts in all your social media accounts without you having to do anything extra but publishing a post in your WordPress site.

All you need to do is to activate the module and to configure the connection to each social account separately.

Linking to each of your social networks and publishing each post in each of your social accounts is done automatically by the module.

This article will show you how to do this.

You can enable this module by switching on Automatically share your posts to social networks at Jetpack > Settings > Sharing in your site's Dashboard:

jetpack publicize

If you click Connect your social media accounts link you'll be redirected to your wordpress.com account to configure the connections:

jetpack publicize

But if you prefer to manage connections from your WordPress interface (which we recommend) click Settings > Sharing:

jetpack publicize

On the Sharing Settings screen click Connect next to the social network you want to connect to.

We'll show you how to configure the connection first with a Facebook account, then with a Twitter account.

jetpack publicize

Click Edit This link to review additional options:

jetpack publicize

Click Continue as [your facebook name].

Define who can read you posts on Facebook and click OK:

jetpack publicize

Click OK to finish Facebook configuration:

jetpack publicize

Configuring the connection to your Twitter account is even simpler.

Click Connect button in the Sharing Settings screen next to Twitter icon and then click Authorize app button:

jetpack publicize

Click OK to finish Twitter configuration:

jetpack publicize

Upon successful connection, the status of the connection changes to Connected as:

jetpack publicize

Once you've approved a connection to any of the services available, you'll see a Publicize section in the Publish box on your post writing screen each time you write a new post:

jetpack publicize

If you publish a post as usual, you'll see it show up on the services you enabled.

If you want to opt out from any of the Publicize services for a specific post, click the Publicize Edit link. You can then uncheck the services you do not want to share that post to.

You can also customize the message that gets sent by typing it into the Custom Message box. Due to the character limits imposed by Twitter and other social media networks, you will only have a limited amount of characters available for your message:

jetpack publicize

In the meantime, we've published a new post and let's check if it's published also in our social networking accounts:

jetpack publicize

jetpack publicize

Publicize is working fine!

Images in Publicize

Facebook and Twitter Publicize select images that are at least 200x200 pixels in the following order:

  1. Featured image
  2. An image attached to the post and inserted
  3. Any other image in the post (not attached but perhaps linked)

Tumblr Publicize will display an image if your post is an image post format or if there is an image embedded within the first 256 characters of the post.

Additional Information

  • Saving a post as a Draft will not publicize it.
  • Static pages will not be publicized.
  • Scheduled posts do get publicized – at the time they're scheduled to publish.
  • If you use a plugin to clone or duplicate existing posts, it will also duplicate its status. If the original post is already published, Publicize won't be triggered for the cloned post.
  • Publicize works for Administrator, Editor, or Author user roles. If you're a Contributor for a blog, you cannot use Publicize.
  • When you add new connections, you have the option to decide whether it will be available to just your account or all of the other users on the blog as well. To make the connection available to everyone, just check the prompt for that at the time you add the connection.
  • When making a connection available to all users of a blog, the only thing any other user on your site can do is post to the social network. They do not have access to do anything else such as getting access to the social network account directly.

Users with Premium and Professional plan use additional options such as sharing content that has already been published, and planning posting posts at a particular time.

#jetpack #management

Still not finding what you're looking for?

Contact our support team with any additional questions or concerns.

Contact support