Home > Help Center > Shared Hosting > Control Panel > cPanel Contact Information and Preferences

cPanel Contact Information and Preferences

managed web hosting

Use this interface to store contact information for your cPanel account, and to set your contact preferences.

Go to cPanel > Preferences > and click Contact Information link:

contact-information

You may use an email address on a domain that this server hosts. However, we do not recommend this, because you may fail to receive messages when the server encounters problems. For example, if your mailbox exceeds its quota, you will not receive any new email, including notices.

Important: To use the Reset Password feature, you must set your contact email address.

Change your contact information

Enter the desired contact information in the available text boxes:

Enter an email address to receive account notifications - your default email address will be automatically added upon account registration.

Enter a second email address to receive account notifications - cPanel allows you to enter fallback solution by adding a second contact email. Our recommendation is to check with your hosting provider if this option is not disabled on a server level.

An access token for Pushbullet - cPanel can use Pushbullet's services to push notifications to all your connected devices. You can get an access token from your Pushbullet's Account Settings page. For more information visit www.pushbullet.com.

contact-information

Important: Do not use an email address that your cPanel account owns. If your cPanel account's email addresses become unavailable, you may not be able to access them.

Contact Preferences

By choosing some or all available options (recommended), you are telling cPanel when and under what circumstances to send you notifications.

My contact email address changes. This setting notifies you at your current and previous contact email address if someone changed the contact address.

My preference for contact email address change notifications is disabled. This setting notifies you if someone disabled the My contact email address changes setting.

My account approaches its disk quota. This setting notifies you if your website will soon reach the maximum amount of disk space. If you have a full disk quota, you cannot modify existing files or add new files to your website. To resolve this issue, delete old or unused files, or upgrade your hosting plan.

My account approaches its bandwidth usage limit. This setting notifies you if your website will soon exceed the maximum amount of traffic allowed. This setting only appears if your hosting provider limits the bandwidth usage for your cPanel account and enables bandwidth notifications. After you reach your maximum bandwidth, visitors cannot access your website. To resolve this issue, you must upgrade your hosting plan. Otherwise, you must wait until the limit resets. Generally, this limit resets at the end of each month.

Any of my account's email accounts approaches or is over quota. This setting notifies you if one of your email addresses will soon reach its maximum amount of disk space. To resolve this issue, delete old email, or upgrade your hosting plan.

My account's password changes. This setting notifies you if someone changed your account password.

My preference for account password change notifications is disabled. This setting notifies you if someone disabled the My account's password changes setting.

Someone logs in to my account.
This setting notifies you when someone logs in to your account. It is useful if you suspect that someone else has your account password. To resolve this issue, change your account password to a more secure password. The system sends a notice only once in each 24-hour window for a specific username, service, and IP address combination. The system will not send notices if the user logs in successfully through an IP address range or netblock from which a user previously successfully logged in. To enable these notices, select the next option.

Send login notifications, even when the user logs in from an IP address range or netblock that contains an IP address from which a user successfully logged in previously. This setting notifies you whenever someone logs in to your account successfully through any IP address.

My preference for successful login notifications is disabled. This setting notifies you if someone disabled the Someone logs in to my account setting.

An external account links to my account for authentication. This setting notifies you when someone links your account to an external authentication provider.

My preference for external account link notifications is disabled. This setting notifies you if someone disabled the An external account links to my account for authentication setting.

My account's two-factor authentication configuration changes. This setting notifies you when your two-factor authentication configuration changes.

My preference for two-factor authentication notifications is disabled. This setting notifies you when your two-factor authentication notifications is disabled.

Select or deselect the desired check boxes in the Contact Preferences section.

Click Save.

Still not finding what you're looking for?

Contact our support team with any additional questions or concerns.

Contact support